Ribbon Box Events Blog

July 19, 2011

Vendor Spotlight: M.E.J. Photography

Filed under: Vendor Spotlight — by Ribbon Box Events, LLC @ 10:00 am
Tags: ,

 

 

 

 

 

This week, it’s an honor to introduce you to Mary of MEJ photography. I will never forget what she said during the first wedding we worked together. She was exploring the venue and the beautiful outdoor courtyard, and as she scrolled through the images on her camera, she smiled and said, “I am so lucky, I love my job!”  Not only does it show in her kind smile and demeanor, but it shows in her beautiful images! Read on, and enjoy!

 

1.  Describe yourself in three words
artist, whimsical , organized

2.   Why did you choose to work in wedding photography?
All weddings are different, yet the same.  Weddings are a way for me to try new things, yet still do the old ideas that will work for a lifetime, it is not like working in the studio where every picture is the same, just the people are different, at weddings you are full of the energy  and the feelings from the bride and the groom, and you get to play off that energy and it shows in the pictures.  you also become a part of that day that they will remember for a lifetime and the pictures that I take that day will help them remember and will be passed down to their children.

3.   What do you love most about your job?
I love the look on the grooms face when his bride comes walking down the aisle and he sees her for the first time, i think that this is what made me fall in love with weddings. I want to be able to capture that moment, that one tiny second when the look on the grooms face is full of shock, wonder, and love.

4.   What inspires you?
my daughter, my family, my surroundings, the books that I read

5.   Share one of the most memorable projects you took part in and why it was so special.
My most memorable wedding was my first wedding, it was the wedding of an amazing person and an amazing friend, everything about her wedding was based off of her parents wedding and his parents wedding, she even wore her mothers wedding dress, to me this will be the best wedding that I ever photographed, maybe because it is the one that made me fall in love with the whole idea of becoming a wedding photographer, as they say you never forget your first love!

6. Complete this sentence, “If I did not work in the wedding industry, I would…..”

…work on my art full time, it is what i went to school for, it is what i love doing,

 

7.   How would you describe your style?
My style mixes art with photojournalism, your wedding day has a story and for me it is my job to tell that story in pictures, and to show the details and feelings that you worked so hard to create.

8.   What advice would you give to brides and grooms on choosing a photographer?
Don’t just choose the photographer just because you like their work, yes that is a big and important part about choosing them, but make sure that you get along with them and that they listen to your ideas and are willing to try new things, remember they are the ones that you work with the longest, you might even build a life long friendship with them and have them do the photography for all the other important milestones in your life, so make sure they are good that is a no brainer, but also make sure they are someone you won’t mind having in the dressing room with you.

9.   What advice would you give to brides and grooms on the wedding planning process in general?
Don’t stress the little things they always have a way of working themselves out.

10.   Lastly for fun, if they made a movie of your life,which actor would you want to play you?
Kristen dunst, people tell me that she looks like me and we sound alike, which is alright with me because I think that she is beautiful!

Mary, thanks so much for chatting! I really enjoy working with you- looking forward to our next event together!

Tiffany

Want to contact Mary directly? Here’s how:

email: mejphotography@me.com

website: http://web.mac.com/mejphotography/Site/Welcome.html

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

