Ribbon Box Events Blog

November 7, 2011

Monday, Monday

Filed under: Guest Blogger: Monday Musings — by fabiennelaveau @ 10:00 am

Due to circumstances beyond my control, the last two weeks of my life got lost in a sea of Kleenex, cough medicine and bad television. When I awoke, a major terrorist was gone and Halloween had happened without me. Feeling like Rumpelstiltsken, I had to find my bearings and nature, as always provided my focus. As it turns out, I had to muster myself for an involved project in West Virginia and the two hour drive each day reconnected me to my world and things I love most – Virginia and her majestic autumn and the unrivaled Shenandoah River.

Heading out each day, I was smack in the middle of glorious fall. Sleeping through the turning of the leaves, I woke to the full on splendor of oranges, golds, reds and burnt shades that define the upper south in late October. Oh, what glory, what inspiration, what beauty.

If you have any opportunity to take such a drive in the next few weeks, don’t miss out. Load yourself up, grab family or friends, pack your camera, collect some leaves and acorns and remember the simple aspects of this perfect season.

Press your leaves in a book, glitter them, have a tiny tea party with your acorn cups, and settle in with hot cider or a grownup pumpkin-tini. Equal parts of pumpkin liqueur ( clear, not creamy ), hazelnut liqueur, whipped cream vodka OR dark rum, heavy cream…shake over ice and strain into a beautiful martini or wine glass with brown sugar on the rim. Enjoy!

Fabienne

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

