Ribbon Box Events Blog

November 22, 2011

Vendor Spotlight: Aaron Haslinger Photography

 

This week, Aaron Haslinger and Primary Studios  is the subject of our Vendor Spotlight! Aaron is a dedicated and talented professional- and his work speaks for itself. Our first event together was this past summer and I can’t wait to get him on our event calendar for 2012! Read on and get to know the man and business behind these beautiful images!

1.  Describe yourself in three words
Lover Of Life             really 🙂

2.   Why did you choose to work in wedding photography?

The initial answer to this question isn’t very glamorous.  I grew to love photography so much that I knew that I wanted to make a living doing it.  So I asked myself “what is the best way to have a career with longevity in photography?”.  And the conclusion I came to is that people will always be getting married and always want a photographer for the occasion.  The reason I’ve stuck with it after over ten years is probably a little more interesting though.  It is truly meaningful to me to witness all of the amazing moments that unfold through the course of someone’s wedding day.  And it is an honor to be entrusted to capture those moments for all of time.  Uniqueness of someone’s life impacting moments + high honor + the joy of sharing the images of those moments with them = a job you can’t help but love!

3.   What do you love most about your job?
I love the excitement that my clients have when they first see the work I’ve done for them!  They are so appreciative of the time you spend with them throughout the wedding, but when they get to relive the day through the artistic take on their photographs they are even more excited.  It is a great feeling to have such genuinely thrilled customers.

4.   What inspires you?

Great work by other artists.  A lot of times it is awesome imagery by other photographers, but I have an interest in all forms of art so anything can catch my attention.  Even movies and well made TV commercials can inspire me and I have long appreciated the performances of dance companies

5.   Share one of the most memorable projects you took part in and why it was so special.
Every year I do some stuff for the CollegeBound Foundation in Baltimore.  They specialize in helping city kids get to college and help them stay there and succeed as well.  Some of the conditions that these kids go through in city schools are unbelievable.  And I mean “unbelievable” in the truest sense… you would seriously not believe what they endure.  And they do it all while working their butts off to be good, no, great students.  They deserve every bit of help that CollegeBound provides and I am proud to help in that mission in any capacity.

6. Complete this sentence, “If I did not work in the wedding industry, I would…..”

still be a photographer.  But I’d be on a search for a photography subject(s) with some meaning.

7.   How would you describe your style?
Creative, candid, classic.  I want my images to show the true nature of a person and stand the test of time.

8.   What advice would you give to brides and grooms on choosing a photographer?

Style is a great place to start… of course you want to like the kind of images that your photographer makes.  But the way you jive with a photographer’s personality is extremely important as well.  Your photographer is the one vendor that spends the most amount of time with you throughout the wedding day… and in close proximity too.  If you don’t like your photographer’s personality it can affect the overall quality of the images because you may not feel at ease with them.  Conversely though, if you get along great with your photographer it can bring out the joy in each moment even more.  Lastly, choose me 😉

9.   What advice would you give to brides and grooms on the wedding planning process in general?
It is a lot of work.  Each thing you take care of reminds you of the 3 or 4 other things you still need to do.  Try the “divide and conquer” approach so that you split up planning responsibilities and each have a vested interest in what shape your wedding takes.   Hire professionals that you truly feel great about… and for the sake of enjoying your wedding day itself to the fullest, seriously consider hiring a wedding planner!

10.   Lastly for fun, if they made a movie of your life,which actor would you want to play you?
Hmmm, you know, I think Daniel Day Lewis is pretty bad-ass, and maybe just wiry enough to not be too much of an exaggeration, haha!

Aaron, Thank you so much for participating! I really enjoy working with you- looking forward to our next event together!

Tiffany

Want to contact Aaron directly? Here’s how:

website:  www.aaronhaslinger.com
phone:  410-259-6835
email:  aaron@aaronhaslinger.com


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

