Ribbon Box Events Blog

April 11, 2012

Vendor Spotlight: Radebaugh Florist & Greenhouse

Filed under: Vendor Spotlight — by Ribbon Box Events, LLC @ 10:05 am
Tags: , , ,

This week’s featured Vendor has been in the works for nearly a year, and I’m so excited to finally introduce you to Lisa Baker of Radebaugh Florist in Baltimore, MD!

Ten Questions With Lisa of Radebaugh Florist

1. Describe yourself in three words:  Down. To. Earth.

 

2. Why did you choose to work in weddings/special events?  I’d always loved crafting as a hobby since I was a little girl (though I was doubtful I’d make a living cross-stitching hand-towels).  While studying my other passions – radio and advertising – in college, I thought it’d be fun to work part-time at “that cute little florist down the street”.  I soon learned that that “little” florist was one of the best, most reputable florists in the Baltimore area.  I’ve worn many hats here at Radebaugh’s, but I didn’t know if managing the weddings and special events would be a good fit for me.  Well, 8 years and over 1500 events later, I can still say I love what I do and continue to grow as a designer every day!     

 

3. What do you love most about your job?  Nothing beats designing a bridal bouquet!  After conceptualizing and sometimes tweeking (and re-tweeking) the design, it’s so gratifying to finally create it.  We have a great team of wedding designers that work closely together, but I’m always trying to call ‘dibs’ on what I consider the most important flower piece of the big day!   

 

4. What inspires you?  My clients!  Each has his or her own personal taste so it’s my job to transfer that into a floral design.  I love that no two weddings are the same!  I also draw inspiration from others in my field.  I’m constantly scouring magazines and the internet to find truly amazing designs and I hope that I do my part to inspire other floral designers as well.  Nothing beats having a bride show me a photo in a magazine and being able to say – “I made that!”      

 

5. Share one of the most memorable projects you took part in and why it was so special.  A few years ago, both my boss’s son and daughter were married within the same year.  It was such a great experience to work on those two events that were so special to people that mean a lot to me.  I work for a family owned and operated company who’ve been in business since 1924, and it’s hard not to feel like part of the family here!  I’d be lying if I said there wasn’t the element of added pressure, but it was so much more rewarding to see the impact you can make on two very special days.    

Image by Freed Photography

 

6. Complete this sentence, “If I did not work in the wedding industry, I would…..” be a lot less stressed out!  Ha, in all honesty though I would hope I would be a famous (and rich) on-air radio talent. 

 

7. How would you describe your style?  Ever-changing.  I’m an anything-goes kind of designer who can appreciate everything from traditional and pretty to fun and funky.  What truly matters though is not my style, but my clients’ style and being adaptable to their needs.          

 

8. What advice would you give to brides and grooms on choosing a florist?  Select someone you trust and with whom you feel comfortable.  Knowing you’re on the same wavelength with your florist will eliminate a lot of stress.  Reading reviews online has also become an excellent tool in choosing vendors.  Seeing photos of your designer’s work is important as well.  Even if the designs aren’t exactly what your flowers will be, it’s nice to see a range of styles that showcase their talent.   

       

9. What advice would you give to brides and grooms on the wedding planning process in general?  Relax and think about each decision you have to make, decide, and move on.  I’ve seen too many couples agonize over the little things.  Chances are, having your crab cake hors d’oeuvres fried or broiled isn’t going to have a huge impact on your wedding day, so don’t lose sleep over it!      

 

10. Lastly for fun, if they made a movie of your life, which actor would you want to play you?  George Clooney.  I know he’s a man, but I imagine we’d have to collaborate at some point and that might be the only chance I’d get to meet that dreamy, dreamy man! 

Ha- possibly the best answer to my celebrity question!! Thanks so much Lisa, I’m thrilled to share your beautiful work, and insights on the bridal industry! Looking forward to our next wedding together!

Want to contact Lisa directly? Here’s how:

website:  http://www.radebaugh.com/
phone:  410-825-4300
email:  weddings@radebaugh.com

1 Comment »

  1. A big thanks to Mary Lees for my head shot! http://mlgphotography.shutterfly.com/

    Comment by Lisa — July 25, 2012 @ 1:43 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

